Skip to Content

Clark Elected Chair Of Overton Commission

/ The Upper Cumberland's News Leader
Clark Elected Chair Of Overton Commission

Darwin Clark will serve as the chair of the Overton County Commission for a second year.

Clark won by a 10-4 vote Monday night after County Executive Stephen Barlow was defeated in a first vote. Barlow did not serve as chair in his first year as county executive, even though it is traditional in county government, Barlow said. He asked the commission before the vote to consider him for the role.

“I wanted to take the first year and learn my job before I took chair, Barlow said. “And I’ve poured my whole heart and soul into this job. And I do believe that most of you all see that. I humbly, respectfully ask you for the opportunity.”

The Commission voted Barlow as the chair pro-tem. Commissioners Jesse Bowman, Patrick McCurdy, Lee Richards, Phillip Talley, Shane Walker voted for Barlow in the first vote that ended nine against, five for.


The post Clark Elected Chair Of Overton Commission appeared first on News Talk 94.1/AM 1600.