Skip to Content

Ballots Coming Together For August Elections

/ The Upper Cumberland's News Leader
Ballots Coming Together For August Elections

A host of Upper Cumberland residents put their names in the ring for state and county general elections in August.

Putnam County Election Administrator Michele Honeycutt said Spencer Delk and Kevin Peters turned in petitions for Monterey Alderman Board One. Mark Farley and Larry D. Bennett will run for Board Two. James Cooney Foster, Cecilia Paulson for Board Three, and Charles Pokey Looper and Jamie Phillips will run for Board Four. Jeremiah Bowman and Alex Garcia will both run for Monterey Mayor.

“They set a lot of the local policies, you know,” Honeycutt said. “So it would impact your life quite a bit at times, depending on what they’re passing. So I do think the local are very important.”

Algood Aldermen candidates on the ballot will include Ronald Graves, Luke Hill, Roger Williams, Dan Taylor, and Tim McPhearson.

Baxter City Council Candidates will include Jeff Herold, and Justin Stanton, with John Martin running for Mayor.

Cameron Sexton will run for 25th District State Representative against Democrat Wesley Atkins. Ryan Williams will run for 42nd District Representative against Democrat Amber Benny Tayler.

In White County, Election Administrator Sherry Anderson said Brian Jones, Hoyte Jones, Judy Parker Payne, and Brent Young have all turned in petitions to run for Aldermen.

Jackson County Election Administrator Drew McMillan said Caleb Allen and Glenda Mayberry will run for Assessor of Property. He said Ron Eldridge, Mark Allen, and Mark Brown, are up for school board positions. He said Lloyd Williams will run for Gainesboro Mayor. Deb Whitaker, Beth Young, Tom Goetz, and Nancy Pruett will be on the ballot running for Aldermen seats.

“They are who runs the community and has the best interest in Jackson County,” McMillan said.

Overton County Election Administrator said William Absten, Ben Dannor, Mike Hayes, Melissa Savage, and Wayne Taylor are the independent candidates that were not on March ballots running for school board positions. He said Kara Boone will run for Assessor of Property, and James Darwin Clark and David L. McDonald will run for Highway Superintendant.

Honeycutt said early voting will last from July 12-27. She said July 2 is the registration deadline.


The post Ballots Coming Together For August Elections appeared first on News Talk 94.1/AM 1600.